Theft Crimes Attorney in Plano, Texas Serving All of Collin County
My name is Mac Morris, and for more than 25 years I have been defending the rights of clients in the Texas state criminal court system. In that time, I have experienced a range of different cases, but some of the most common are those involving theft. No matter if your theft case has been classified as a felony or misdemeanor, the potential penalties you face are serious, including heavy fines and jail time.
At the Law Office of Mac Morris, my goal is to help clients throughout the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex area receive the comprehensive criminal defense services they deserve under the law.
Types of Theft Crime Charges
Theft is an incredibly broad term that has to do with taking money or property from someone without permission. Cars, electronics, jewelry and money are among the most popular possessions that are stolen every year. Many times, the crime of theft is combined with other charges, such as:
Illegal possession of a weapon
Breaking and entering
These charges can elevate your theft crime from a misdemeanor to a felony and increase the potential penalties you face. My extensive experience as a criminal defense attorney is important to helping you understand your potential punishment.
Penalties for Misdemeanor Theft
Theft is considered a felony or misdemeanor, depending on what has been stolen. Here is a breakdown of how Texas classifies misdemeanor theft:
Class C Misdemeanor (Punishable by a $500 fine or less): Any theft of money or property valued at under $20, unless committed by check
Class B Misdemeanor (Punishable by a $2,000 fine and up to 180 days in prison) : Theft of money or property valued at over $20 but less than $500
Class A Misdemeanor (Punishable by a $4,000 fine and up to one year in prison): Theft of money or property valued at between $500 and $1,500
Penalties for Felony Theft
When theft is classified as a felony, the potential punishment is instantly increased. To be classified as a felony, the theft crime would have to follow the following criteria:
State jail felony (Punishable by a $10,000 fine and up to two years in prison): Theft of property valued at $1,500 or more, but less than $20,000
Third-degree felony (Punishable by a $10,000 fine and anywhere from two to five years in prison): Theft of property valued at anywhere between $20,000 and $100,000
Second-degree felony (Punishable by a $10,000 fine and anywhere from two to 20 years in prison): Theft of property valued anywhere between $100,000 and $200,000
First-degree felony (Punishable by a $10,000 fine and anywhere from five to 99 years in prison): Theft of any property valued at more than $200,000
Contact Attorney Mac Morris to Assist You Today
If you have been charged with theft in Texas, regardless of whether it is a misdemeanor or felony, call the Law Office of Mac Morris today to schedule your free initial consultation.
I represent clients throughout Plano, Garland, and the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex area. Reasonable payment plans are available and most credit cards are accepted.